Call for Abstracts: 8th International Phosphorus Workshop (IPW8) September 12-16, 2016

Submit your abstract until April 18, 2016 (extended final deadline)

We already received registrations from 20 different countries (incl. Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Great Britain, Iran, Ireland, Japan, Moldavia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, and USA) and we are looking forward to your contribution!

The International Phosphorus Workshops (IPWs) are well-known for presenting the latest results of research into agricultural and environmental P cycles as well as new methods of P analysis. Recently, environmental problems arising from P surplus on the one hand side and the implications for food production posed by P deficiencies on the other have made fair and sustainable P distribution a societal challenge. Therefore, at the IPW8, P governance will be an important focus. In addition, given the research interests of the hosting Leibniz-ScienceCampus, the role of P in catalytic reactions and technical applications will debut as a workshop topic. Other topics, addressing subjects ranging from the atomic/molecular to the societal, are guaranteed to stimulate interesting and productive transdisciplinary discussions covered by the IPW8.

The themes of the workshop are:

• Phosphorus cycles and fluxes in the environment

• Sufficiency and efficiency of phosphorus utilization

• Phosphorus recycling: technologies and product applications

• Syntheses of and with phosphorus- containing compounds

• The development of advanced phosphorus analysis methods

• From knowledge to action: phosphorus-related issues in politics and society


Further information on topics, excursions, abstract submission, deadlines, registration process etc.:


We look forward to seeing you in Rostock!

Local organizing committee of the Leibniz-ScienceCampus Phosphorus Research Rostock

Chairs: Ulrich Bathmann & Peter Leinweber
Scientific Committee: Bettina Eichler-Löbermann, Felix Ekardt, Marko Hapke, Gerald Jandl, Monika Nausch, Detlef Schulz-Bull, Jens Tränckner, Klaus Wimmers, Dana Zimmer
Coordination office: Inga Krämer, Daniela Derlet-Eichler, Julia Schneider